God’s Hand’s

People always say that when times get tough and you are in a dark place in life that you begin to explore your faith more. I never knew what that meant until more recently. I have always believed in God. I was raised Catholic. I haven’t been a church-goer in more recent years. Not because I am against organized religion, but I just haven’t found that church or religion that has made me feel comfortable YET. I have never read the bible front to back, but I do often refer to verses.

The past three years with health issues from my hip, and now more recently with a diagnosis of Cushing’s disease, I have been exploring my faith more. I am finding my strength in God. There are so many bible verses that have reached out to me that never have made sense before. It is strange how fast your life perspective can change (is changing, in fact).

“I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” -Phillipians 4:13

One common saying that comes to mind and never resonated so much with me before…until now…is “it is in God’s hand’s”. Wow… yes it is.

There are certain things in life that are just out of your control. God already has a plan.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. “

-Jeremiah 29:11

So I find reminding myself:

“Lord, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference”

I am letting go of things I cannot change.

Also remembering:

“There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven;

A time to give birth, and a time to die; A time to plant, and a time to uproot what is planted.

A time to kill, and a time to heal; A time to tear down, and a time to build up.

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; A time to mourn, and a time to dance.

A time to throw stones, and a time to gather stones; A time to embrace, and a time to shun embracing.

A time to search, and a time to give up as lost; A time to keep, and a time to throw away.

A time to tear apart, and a time to sew together; A time to be silent, and a time to speak.

A time to love, and a time to hate; A time for war, and a time for peace.”

–Eccelesiastes 3: 1-8

 

Above I talked about the saying “it is in God’s hand’s”. Recently, I was challenged by my loved one to find something beautiful in each day. My challenge was to focus on that beautiful thing. As I was thinking about this saying, I remembered some pictures posted on Facebook by my wedding photographer, Angela Erhler-Hofer. The pictures were a project called the “Hands Project” through her church. So BEAUTIFUL! Perfect for my challenge to find something beautiful, and they are also a reminder that “it is in God’s hand’s”.

Hand1 Hand2 Hand3 Hand4 Hand5

Keep the faith. God will lead you out of darkness into light.

Leave a Reply

