PAO Surgery: 7 weeks post-op

This is my 7-week post-op PAO surgery update. Agh, almost there! I have my next follow-up appointment on Friday, in which my doctor will authorize me whether I can go weight bearing on my right side. I am so ready for this! I feel like once I can do that I can begin to move forward more in this recovery. I am still experiencing some symptoms in my left pelvic region muscles. Again, I am hoping it is just compensation due to no weight bearing on my right side, leaving all of my weight to bear on my left side. I can’t wait to go weight bearing and hopefully start some more substantial physical therapy (other than the basic exercises I have been doing) in order to strengthen my muscles. I am hoping to use the physical therapist here in town that I will have access to the pool and can do water therapy exercises. Water therapy is a very beneficial, low impact exercise that is good for people with hip issues. I just want some guidance, so I do not injure myself. I need constant reminders on proper form, etc. My hand eye coordination is not up to par.

Wk7quote

(Source: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=650308168340344&set=a.292786114092553.62851.174331412604691&type=1&theater)

Other than that, I think the recovery process is still going pretty normal as far as bone healing, and muscle and nerve repair. I only have a few more days until my next post-op follow-up appointment. Fingers, toes, all extremities crossed and a lot of prayers sent my way would be greatly appreciated. I am really anxious to be able to walk on both of my legs!!

Wk7quote2

(Source: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1414341162152043&set=a.1402359340016892.1073741829.1402321173354042&type=1&theater)

As far as the other aspect of surgery recovery, I am going stir crazy from boredom! I have been trying to read, watch HGTV, DIY Network, do puzzles, make cards, etc. Basically anything I can do that I enjoy to relieve my boredom, but there is only so much I can do. I was able to spend last Friday with my niece. We spent the day taking Trooper (our dog) to the veterinarian, which Makenna LOVED because she loves animals and wants to be a veterinarian when she grows up. After the veterinarian visit, we stopped by the library, and I read her a book, and she was able to pick out a few books and DVDs to check out to take home. She LOVES the library! She decorated some pink and green paper with her Barbie and Princess stickers. We also made a heart-shaped sandwich for lunch and pampered her by painting her toes. It was the highlight of my week. She is such a little sweetheart! LOVE HER!

Kenna Kenna2 Wk7quote3

(Source: https://www.facebook.com/timflattbiz/photos/a.633747266669777.1073741828.633038470073990/752355564808946/?type=1&theater)

I am still getting tired very easily. Last night we went to a buffet fundraiser for our local varsity baseball team, and I was wiped out! Mom and I went to two stores in town prior to going to the fundraiser, and then heading to the eatery. I was there for about an hour, and I was exhausted by the end of it. I am not sure how this will pan out when I have to go back to work.

While all of this is going on with me, my life is resuming in a hectic manner without me. My mom and Sean have been busy, busy, busy (did I say BUSY) working on getting the farm house ready for us to move in. We are hoping that we are able to at least move everything off the trailer by Sunday of this coming weekend!! Again, fingers crossed and prayers, whatever is your thing!!

Leave a Reply

