Blessings in Disguise: 8 Days Post PAO

Update: 8 days post-op. I am still doing fairly well. There is quite a bit of swelling and bruising in my right quad, thigh, and hamstring. I have been trying to keep my right leg elevated and icing it often. I still cannot move my right leg without assistance very well when trying to get up from lying down or a sitting position. I have been trying to sit in the wheelchair a little here and there just to get into a different position. I usually do that when I am eating or working on a puzzle. I am using my daily “clean up/hygiene” time and bathroom breaks, etc. as time to get some movement in and keep some range of movement in my leg. I would say the most uncomfortable is when I have to sleep and lay in bed for about 4 hour increments between having to go to the bathroom and stay on schedule with pain medications. My right quad is tingly and pretty tender and is the most weak. As far as I know, this is all pretty normal from talking to others that have had PAO surgery.

21 20 19

Left: Incision area post-0p

Middle: Ice packs and elevation to reduce swelling and inflammation

Right: Bruising and swelling of my right leg post-operation

I cannot begin to explain how much I have gained (even more) appreciation for Sean, and my mom and dad. Without them being here through this all, I literally would not have been able to get to where I am today. They have been with me, catering to my every need since the evening before my surgery. I knew going into this surgery that I would be pretty immobile and somewhat helpless to a certain extent and for a period of time after; however, it isn’t until you actually experience it that you begin to realize how much you will truly have to depend on other people.

For those of you that know me well, this is not an easy task for me. I am pretty independent. Sometimes I think that it is a good thing, while in situations like this it is not because I have hard time having to rely on others to do things for me. I tried mentally preparing myself that the recovery process is going to be a long road, and I think it helped, but in the end there is only so much you can prepare yourself. One thing is for sure, I am learning not to take the small things for granted ever again (this is something I have learned over the past few years already but even more so now).

For instance, I cannot even carry my own tea to the coffee table. UGH! Frustrating!! These are not things you think of, and it seems so small, but in “my little world” is a big deal. By the way, “my little world” is smaller than what I am used to, since I am basically restricted to one floor of the house, unless I want to make a big process out of it…but as of now it is just easier to stay on the main floor of our house for the most part.

It is more of just adjusting to having to relinquish some control and let go of some of my OCD tendencies (one of my downfalls, I know). I will be one of the first to admit that I am “slightly” (not to use the word lightly, lol) anal-retentive. I am very particular and often want things done a particular way. This is something I am aware of and try to work on, but I often struggle with because I feel like it is a natural part of my personality. While it is something that I am cognizant of and try to improve in myself; change doesn’t occur overnight…well, except in situations like this when it has too basically. In one day, I had to relinquish control of many of my everyday activities and routines to other human beings in many aspects. Did I mention I am very independent? I like to do things for myself. I don’t like asking for help or entirely relying on others to do things for me.

Essentially, PAO surgery is teaching me a lot about myself. It is a growth process and learning experience. It will be a time to reflect. Don’t get me wrong; I am not complaining AT ALL. In fact, I am actually grateful for this experience as an opportunity to grow personally, and learn more about myself and my loved ones. It has taught me already who will be by my side through thick and thin, and who I can depend on when times get tough. Even though that may sound contradictory to what I said above about not wanting to depend on people, it is times like these that you find out who truly cares and who will be there at the times you most need them in your life. Let me tell you, I am definitely finding that out, and I DO consider this all a blessing in disguise.

I have been overwhelmed with the generosity and kindness of everyone. It has meant so much. Thank you again for all of your thoughts, prayers, kind words and gestures. I appreciate it all so much!!

One thought on “Blessings in Disguise: 8 Days Post PAO

  1. Betty says:

    Glad to hear you are improving so much. Knew Sean would come through for you. Too bad you are so far away or I could com help too.

    Granny

Leave a Reply

