Food Prep & Two New Recipes

I have two new recipes to share with you. I made both of these on my Sunday food prep day. I portion them out after preparing them, and I will be able to eat these throughout the week, or I can freeze the chili to save for later! One is another quinoa recipe, and another is one that was shared with me by one of my good friend’s who is a health nut 🙂

It was a good idea to make them together too because there were some “doubled” ingredients that I could use in both, such as the broth, corn, black beans, and onions. It was kind of nice to not have the “leftover” ingredients to have to find something throughout the week to use them on. BONUS!

The first recipe is BBQ Chicken Quinoa Salad and can be found on the Eat Yourself Skinny website. LOVE HER RECIPES! They are all calculated to Weight Watchers points, which is a system that I am familiar with and have been successful with in the past. Here is the link to her website and the recipe:

http://www.eat-yourself-skinny.com/2013/02/bbq-chicken-quinoa-salad.html

R2R4

This one is delicious!! Like I have said before, I am picky about quinoa recipes. You have to find a “right” recipe when making dishes with quinoa. This recipe is tried and true with me! I hope you agree!

The second recipe is Sweet Potato Chili from the Love & Lemons website. I have never tried any recipes from this website. It was suggested to me, and I just so happened to have the ingredients, so I was willing to try it out!! I did use spinach instead of kale because that is what I happened to have in my fridge. Sometimes we have to improvise! I must admit I was a little skeptical on this recipe, but it was surprisingly REALLY delicious!! Here is the direct link to the recipe and Love & Lemons website:

http://www.loveandlemons.com/2014/02/12/sweet-potato-vegetarian-chili/

R3R5

Also, for breakfast this morning, I had one of my favorites. Half an avocado baked with an egg. I had two chicken sausages on the side. It was yummy for sure!! Bake the avocado and egg for approximately 20 minutes at 425 degrees.

ACS

Keep eating healthy people!!! Preparation is key for me. I take my Sunday’s for a “food prep” day. I prep a bunch of food and veggies for the week and portion them out, so I can just grab them out of the fridge for lunch and dinner throughout the week!

“By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail’ –Benjamin Franklin

R1

 

 

2 thoughts on “Food Prep & Two New Recipes

  1. Betty Cram says:

    For the avocado – did you use any spice or salt & pepper for the avocado? Haven’t cooked with avocado – so don’t know if I like it. I like galacumole (sp)though

    • Gina says:

      Betty, I did not add any spice to the avocado. There is enough flavor in the quinoa recipe. When baking the egg and avocado, I didn’t need to add anything to it either. You certainly can. If I would add anything, it may be some pepper to the egg and avocado, but I do not add salt to any of my food. That is just a personal preference for me.

Leave a Reply

