“Love the Skin You’re In”

In the spring of 2010, just after our wedding, I decided to join a local boot camp/gym that offered a unique style of exercising, combining interval training, resistance bands, light weights, plyometrics, and cardio. It became my addiction. I got great results and thoroughly enjoyed going each and every day. Part of the reason that it was so enjoyable was because of the motivation that the members all give each other during workouts, constantly cheering each other on and pushing each other to keep going. Through this, I had the honor and privilege of meeting this AWESOME and AMAZING girl that still continues to be a inspiration and motivation to me today, despite the fact that I have not been able to participate in the boot camp for awhile now due to my hip issues. Her name is Kimi Jo.

I know that I am not the only person she has been an inspiration to. She took over expanding and running boot camps herself, and she is constantly offering advice and motivating people to make healthy lifestyle choices. She cares so much about people, and she is able to reach out and offer the help people need to make healthy lifestyle changes.

I haven’t talked about it much, but I have been struggling with issues in my hip area for approximately 2 1/2 years now. I will follow-up with a post about that in more detail. Anyways, throughout all of the struggle with my hip, I have not been able to be as physically active as I would like to be or know I am capable of when I am able. With that reality, along with the unhealthy lifestyle of working overnights (which thank goodness is now a thing of the past for me) I have gained unwanted weight back. I have lost the AWESOME tone that I had from doing boot camp. Like I said, boot camp was my addiction, and I love the results it gave me. I love how I looked. I loved how I felt. I was on a high of life!!

Then BAM, life hits you with a whammy and all that you’ve worked so hard for feels like a long distance memory. While learning to cope with and manage my hip issues and trying to get back into being physical active, despite the increased pain that it causes, I have had to learn to accept that I can’t be where I was and where I want to be right now. It is hard to accept, and hard to admit. There are so many unwanted feelings associated with it that are hard to explain.

Which is why I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE when people like Kimi Jo come into my life and remind me that being healthy and happy isn’t always about how you “look”, that number on the scale or needing to look like that model on the front page of Glamour magazine (nothing against her).

I can preach it all day long, but I don’t always practice what I preach. I constantly am telling people to end “fat talk” and that everyone is beautiful in their own way, and I truly believe that. However, why is it so easy to tell others that and not accept it for yourself? I guess that brainwashing that society feeds us about body image is that toxic?

So again, this is why I am so thankful for people like Kimi Jo that come around and inspire us all to “Love the Skin You’re In”. I would like to introduce you all to a project that she is doing on her Facebook page “No Secrets Attached”. Kimi Jo has challenged her followers to post a picture in their workout attire with the following information to accompany the picture: Send your name, age, weight, favorite workout or activities, and then finish the following sentence, “I love the skin I’m in because ____________.”

Here is my post:

To learn more go visit the “No Secrets Attached” Facebook page (link below) . Go check it out and “like” the page to be able to follow and be equally inspired through her postings about living the healthy life, which includes workouts, recipes, and other healthy lifestyle tips and advice. I promise you won’t be disappointed!!

No Secrets Attached Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/NoSecretsAttached

One thought on ““Love the Skin You’re In”

  1. Kimi Jo says:

    Thank you for the shout-out! 🙂 I appreciate all your kind words and love your story! I know you’ve been struggling and truly hope you find answer soon for your pain! Hang in there girl and keep doing what you can! ❤

Leave a Reply

