I Like Giving

One of my favorite gifts from Christmas was a book that my husband, Sean, got for me. I had never heard of it. It wasn’t on my wish list. As part of The Total Money Makeover plan, giving back is something that Dave Ramsey strongly encourages. This is something that Sean and I really want to focus now that we ourselves are debt free. Therefore, this book was very fitting and motivated me to actually make “giving” one of my goals for 2014. The book that Sean got for me is called I Like Giving by Brad Formsma. It is a book full of inspirational stories of giving back and being generous to others. The author even cites several books and studies that discuss how giving back can be good for your own personal happiness and health by the joy you feel when giving.

I Like Giving2I Like Giving

One quote that was cited in the book really resonated with me:

“I have one simple message to offer and it’s this: giving is the most potent force on the planet…Give daily, in small ways, and you will be happier. Give and you will be healthier. Give, and you will even live longer.”

–Dr. Post, author of Why Good Things Happen to Good People

Giving2

(Source: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/3940718398234583/)

Formsma poses the question: “What if more than 315 million Americans alive today would do something generous for someone else daily, weekly, or even monthly. How powerful could that be? What type of impact would that have on our country and the world? What if everyone in the world started living more generously? How much healthier, happier, and more connected would we all be?”

A very interesting perspective. It only takes one person, one action, one gesture, one kind word…but if we all join together, imagine the impact on making the world a better place. Oh, the possibilities!

Giving

(Source: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/3940718398234560/)

If you want to learn more about the I Like Giving movement, you can do so by visiting the following links:

Official website: http://ilikegiving.com/

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ILikeGiving#!/ILikeGiving

Purchase the book: http://www.amazon.com/Like-Giving-Transforming-Power-Generous/dp/1601425759

I would highly recommend this book to anyone. Giving back is a passion of mine. It makes me feel good, and spreads joy to others. There is no right or wrong way to do it… just GIVE! It can be random, planned, monetary or not, a small or big gesture. Either way, by giving back you are making the world a better place!

Giving3

(Source: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/3940718398234568/)

2 thoughts on “I Like Giving

  1. I absolutely love this post, Gina! Thanks for shaing. Your posts always inspire me! Hope you’re doing well!

  2. Gina says:

    Thanks, Leslie 🙂 Love your blog too! Like the post says, “I like giving”!

Leave a Reply

