Goals for 2014

Have you all set your goals for 2014? I am hoping for a big year! I accomplished a lot in 2013, even though it’s been a bit of rough one for me health wise. I saw a quote on New Year’s Eve that resignated with me:

365

(Source: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/542120873866502636/)

Identifying my goals are part of writing my book. I plan on making it a good one!! 🙂 Now, while we are on the topic of goals and before I outline mine, I thought I would have a brief discussion on how to be successful with your goals. Research shows that in order to be successful with goals you should be specific, write them down, and share them with others as accountability. If you really want to be successful with your goals, you can even identify an accountability partner.

I really enjoyed this post from Stacy Makes Cents on being SMART with setting goals. I thought I would share it with you.

http://www.stacymakescents.com/setting-a-savings-goal

S.M.A.R.T. Goals:

S – specific.  You can’t call it a goal if you can’t tell me why you want to do it, what’s involved, etc.  Be specific about what you want to accomplish.

M – measurable.  How can you know if you met a goal if you can’t measure success?  Point me toward the target and I’ll have something to aim for and shoot at.  Then, we can go look at the target together to see if I hit it.

A – attainable.  Dreams are great, but many dreams won’t ever be accomplished.  Goals should stretch you, but they shouldn’t be impossible.

R – relevant.  Some people set goals that don’t matter to themselves or anyone else.  It would be like me setting a goal to read the owner’s manual for each year-model Ford Pinto by the end of this month.  That’s specific, measurable and attainable, but who cares?  I don’t own or want to own a Ford Pinto.  That goal has no relevance to me.

T – timebound.  If you don’t know when to measure the goal’s completion, you are never able to call it a goal.  You must set a deadline.  This drives urgency and importance to get something accomplished rather than sit around considering whether or not to do something.

Sooo… here are my goals for 2014. I am being specific and SMART, writing them down, and sharing them with YOU! Will you help to hold me accountable? 🙂

My Goals 2014

-Total Money Makeover

-Baby Step #3 $15,000-18,000 emergency fund

-Re-evaluate after completing baby step #3, set more goals

-Giving

-Take opportunities every day to be generous to people

-Be intentional with giving

-Health

-Reduce processed foods

-Workout minimum of 3 days a week/goal of 5 days a week

-Address my hip issues

-Research healthy living, continue to update goals

-Support and inspire others to live healthy

-Communication

-Open and effective communication with Sean

(probably left more to private in our marriage)

What are your goals for 2014? Let’s share and hold each other accountable! I would love to hear how you all plan on improving yourselves and growing in the year 2014! It is your book. Write a GOOD ONE!

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2014

  1. thatsmebeccag says:

    Those are great goals! This year I would like to write more letters, be a stronger person (through healthier eating habits and strength training), and give more of my time, talents and funds to people in need.

  2. I have actually been making it a priority to write more handwritten letters this year too, Becca 🙂 Our others goals seem to be related and align somewhat too! Good luck with yours!

Leave a Reply

