The Notebook

Yesterday I posted about a sweet old man that displayed a random act of kindness towards me.

I posted:

“I have a weakness for old people. I have a weakness for old men that tell stories about their life and talk about their wives. I have a weakness for old men who you can tell have loved and lost. Who loved their wives more than anything in the world. I hope Sean continues to love me and his fondness of our life together creates such a bond that it shows in the way this man’s love for his late wife did. How incredibly beautiful”.

I also mentioned that my grandpa is one of those men. My grandpa Gregoire, to be specific. He loved my grandma in that capacity.

Do you recall the movie The Notebook? It is probably my favorite movie of all time for multiple reasons. Who doesn’t agree that it is one of the sweetest love stories? Well, it reminds me of my grandpa and grandma Gregoire. The story is told from the perspective of an elderly man in a nursing home as he reflects on falling in love with the love of his life. You can almost feel the love and passion that he had for his wife as he retells the story of their life together. It is so romantic and heartwarming. It emulates the life that my grandpa and grandma had together.

My grandparents married and had children in the 1940s, which is the era that the movie takes place in. My grandpa knew he would love my grandma the moment he laid eyes on her, according to him. Grandpa was such a gentleman that he respected my grandma’s wish to not kiss until their wedding day. They spent many days going to local dances together.

My grandmother suffered from Alzheimer’s for a great number of years at the end of her life. Did that turn my grandpa away? Absolutely not. He loved my grandma until “death do us part”. Alzheimer’s is a horrible disease that erases your memory. Even when my grandma had to live in a nursing home in their retirement community, while grandpa stayed living in their assisted living apartment, he would never miss a day to go down and have lunch with her. Each and every day he was there because that it was he vowed and he loved her unconditionally.

Grandma passed away in 2008. Grandpa still talks about her often and very fondly. He talks about how great she way and how much he misses her. It makes me sad and happy at the same time. It makes me sad because I can sense how badly he wants to reunite with the love of his life. It makes me happy because they are the perfect display of unconditional love. Their love is something all married couples should strive for.

I leave you with these beautiful quotes about love from The Notebook:

“The best love is the kind that awakens the soul and makes us reach for more, that plants a fire in our hearts and brings peace to our minds. And that’s what you’ve given me. That’s what I’d hoped to give you forever”

“I want all of you, forever, you and me, everyday”

2 thoughts on “The Notebook

  1. Kari Denahy says:

    Beautiful Gina 🙂

Leave a Reply

